Other

A Snapshot of my Bookshelf

I have so many books at home, but I brought a select few to school either because I still needed to read them or I couldn’t be without them. Here’s a quick snapshot of my bookshelf at college:

IMG_1432.jpg

The books (from left to right) are:

I’ll skip over the books I’ve already reviewed (i.e. Yes Please, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, and Murder on the Orient Express), as you can see a more complete reviews on the respective posts.

I’ve had The Complete Sherlock Holmes since my freshman year of college and have slowly been making my way through it since. I usually read it in between books, as the stories are usually 100 pages or less. They’re a lot of fun and interesting to read! And if you’re a fan of the BCC drama Sherlock (like me), it’s so much fun to see the correlation between the original stories and the modern adaptation of it. I also must admit that I enjoy having a big, pretty, impressive-looking book on my shelf.

Moving on to Looking for AlaskaI got this book as a gift from one of my friends who highly recommended it when I was a junior in high school. I still haven’t read it. Oops. I’ve heard it’s an amazing book, and I’ve read John Green’s work before so I know he’s very talented and writes great stories; however, I just have always found other books to read before that one. I really do mean to read it and intend to read it relatively soon. It’s why I took it to school though! Hopefully I’ll pick it up soon so I can finally tell my friend I read it.

I am a big Jane Austen fan, and one of my friend’s (who got me interested in Jane Austen books) favorite Austen book is Persuasion. She says that the characters are very compelling and that it’s an overall fun read. I am excited to read it; I’ll be happy to get closer to closing the gap between Jane Austen books I’ve read vs. books of hers that I’ve yet to read.

The Kill Order  is a book in The Maze Runner series by James Dashner. I read the first book and really liked it, and continued on with the second and third novels. Those were good, although not as impressive as the first. I bout the last book, because I was planning on finishing the series (unfortunately I have an expensive habit of buying my books as opposed to renting from the library). However, I read a book or two after finishing the third book, and never felt compelled to read the next book. So it’s yet to be seen what will happen with this book on my shelf.

I keep Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone with me at school, because it’s a comforting book to have with me. I like to pick it up and read some of my favorite chapters if I’ve had a long day or just need something to relax with but don’t have to pay much attention to. I brought this book to Spain with me so I could have something to read on the plane, and then finished it when I got back to school. I love seeing it on my shelf every morning.

I had to read The Importance of Being Earnest for my high school AP Literature class, and I absolutely love it. It’s hilarious and fun. I brought it to school because I had to read it for a class at college, and I had the best time re-reading the story. It’s actually a play based on nonsense and is intended to be not serious at all.

I’m a big Doctor Who fan, so my best friend gave me Doctor Who: The Official Cookbook for Christmas this past year. I haven’t tried out any of the recipes yet, but they have a lot of fun food that is directly from the show or foods that are based off of the show itself. I love cooking and baking too, so I’m excited to try some of these recipes!

Currently, I’m reading The Princess Bride (which will most likely be a future blog post) because the movie is one of my all-time favorites and I’ve heard that the book is amazing. So far it’s witty and fun and has the same tone as the movie. Keep an eye out for a future blog post down the road!

The last book I have on my shelf is Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. Since I started re-reading the Harry Potter books after my trip to Spain (as I mentioned before), I’ve finished books one through six, and I’m now close to finishing the last book! I’ve read this book (and the rest of the series) so many times, it’s a nice escape from college and responsibilities to just get lost in a familiar book.

I commend you for having made it through this very long post. Hopefully this gives you a good idea of what kind of books I like to read and how/when I read certain types of books.

Leave a Reply

